Valiant Universe: The Beginning
90s Comics Publishers Valiant Comics

Valiant Universe: The Beginning by Voyager Communications – Publishers (@ValiantComics)

Valiant Universe: The Beginning by Voyager Communications (~1989-96)

Valiant Universe: The Beginning by Voyager Communications

Valiant Comics began as an imprint of Voyager Communications, established in 1989 in part by former Marvel editor-in-chief Jim Shooter. It was discontinued in 1996 after being bought out by Acclaim Entertainment. After Acclaim closed its doors in 2004, the publisher was revived as Valiant Entertainment and has been publishing new material since May 2012.

The Valiant Universe

During Solar, Man of the Atom, it was revealed that Solar created the Valiant Universe when he was trying to recreate the one he destroyed. The Valiant Universe contained two groups, those which took place in the 20th century (at that time the present), and those that took place in the 41st century, with events in the present day having an effect on the latter. After several successful bi-monthly sales of titles such as X-O Manowar, Shadowman, and Harbinger, and a company wide crossover in which the two groups learned of each others existence, Valiant was officially bought out by Acclaim in 1994, and as of 1996 all Valiant comics had been discontinued.

List of the most important Valiant characters and heroes of the first incarnation of the Valiant Universe:

  • 20th Century (present day):
    • Angelo Mortalli aka Bloodshot
    • Aric of Dacia aka X-O Manowar
    • Colin King aka Ninjak
    • H.A.R.D. Corps
    • Hwen Fong aka Doctor Mirage and his wife Carmen Ruiz
    • Jack Boniface aka Shadowman
    • Master Darque
    • Peter Stanchek aka Sting and the Harbinger
    • Phil Seleski aka Solar, Man of the Atom
    • Toyo Harada (Head of the Harbinger Foundation)
  • Eternal & Time-Traveling Characters (past, present, future):
    • Aram Anni-Padda aka Armstrong
    • Gilad Anni-Padda aka Eternal Warrior
    • Ivar Anni-Padda aka Timewalker
    • Turok Dinosaur Hunter
  • 41st Century:
    • Magnus Robot Fighter
    • Psi-Lords (Descendants of the H.A.R.D. Corps)
    • Rai and the Futureforce

Note: Turok was originally released in 1954 by Dell Comics. Solar and Magnus were originally released by Gold Key Comics in 1962 and 1963 respectively. Currently, Turok, Solar, Magnus, and Mighty Samson (another Gold Key character) belong to Dynamite Entertainment. All the other listed characters are original characters created by Valiant.